ICC bans Pakistani players for several years

DOHA: The three Pakistani cricketers who allegedly accepted cash in return for deliberate no-balls during last summer’s Lord’s Test match against England have been banned for several years.

Former captain Salman Butt has been banned for 10 years, Muhammad Asif for seven while Muhammad Amir for five years, anti-corruption tribunal head Michael Beloff told a press conference in Doha.

Butt, Asif and Aamer – who were questioned by Scotland Yard detectives over the alleged match-fixing scandal last August – were charged with conspiring to cheat bookmakers, along with agent Mazhar Majeed, the Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) said on Friday. (Ary News)

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.