Pakistan Day: Presidents confers military and civil awards

President Asif Ali Zardari on Tuesday has awarded military and civil awards on outstanding individuals in recognition to their contribution in their respective fields of activity or performed exemplary acts of gallantry, at an investiture ceremony held in connection with Pakistan Day, at the President House here on Tuesday.

Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani, Chairman Senate, Members of the Federal Cabinet, Senior officials of Armed Forces, diplomats and prominent citizens attended the ceremony.

The president overall conferred 75 civil awards while 56 military awards were given on the occasion. Twenty-four foreigners were also awarded for their services to Pakistan. Awards were also conferred to the officers and Jawans of Pakistan Army embraced Shahdat or injured in operations against terrorism in areas of Malakand, Swat and Waziristan.

President Asif Ali Zardari also conferred civil awards on officers and Jawans of Police and other departments on their courageousness and bravery.

President Zardari decorated both civil and military personnel, including the foreign nationals for their services to Pakistan.

The President conferred military awards on Vice Admiral Mushtaq Ahmed, Air Vice Mansoor, Vice Admiral Shahid Iqbal, Air Marshall Amir u Din, Air Admiral Agha Danish, Air Marshall M. Hassan, Major General Sohail Shafqat, Major General Haider Ali Shah, Major General Ahmed Salahari, Major General Agha Muhammad Umar Farooq, Major General Rashid Javed, Major General Saleem Nawaz, Major General Mumtaz Ahmed Bajwa, Major General Ashraf Tabassum, Major General Farooq Iqbal, Major General Shahid Maqbool, Major General Abdul Qadir Khan Shahid, Air Vice Marshall Attique Hafeez, Major General Khalid Rabbani, Major General Jahangir Khan, Major General Ijaz Munir Awan, Air Vice Marshall Qasim Masud Khan, Major General Muzamal Hussain, Major General Osab Ali and Major General Tariq Rasheed Khan.

Sitara-I- Basalat (Military) have been awarded to Major General Javed Sultan Khan Shaheed, Brig Saeed Ahmed Shaeed, Brig M. Afzal Hameed Shaheed, Col Nauman Saeed, Lt. Col Tariq Iqbal Salahari, Major M. Akbar Shaheed, Major Asif Javed, Major Abdul Shakoor, Major M. Akbar Shaheed, Major Sajjad Haider Shaheed, Major Abid Majeed Malik Shaheed, Major Zia-ul-Haq Shaheed, Major Abdul Aziz Shaheed, Major Zahid Hussain Shah Shaheed, Major Asad Akbar Shaheed, Capt Bilal Zafar Shaheed, Capt Raja Waqas Zameer Shaheed, Major General Tahir Arshad Khan, Major General Khadim Hussain, Major General Ahsan Mehmood, Major General M. Asif and Major General Jhangeer Anwar Khan.

The officers who have conferred with Sitara-i-Basalat are Capt Muneed Ahmed Shaheed, Capt Khawaja Muhammad Shaheed, Lt Haider Nazeer Shaheed, Lt. Sohail Ahmed Shaheed, Lt. Ahsan Ullah Shaheed, Lt. Jhangeer Khan Shaheed, Naib Subedar Nisar Ahmed Shaheed and Havildar Naeem Ahmed Shaheed.

President Zardari decorated Secretary General Organization of Islamic Conference (OIC) Prof. Dr Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu with Hilal-i-Pakistan. Hilal-e-Shujaat conferred to Maulana Sarfaraz Naeemi Shaheed while Hilal-e-Imtiaz were conferred to Corp Commander Peshawar, Lt. General Masud Aslam, Professor Qasim Jan, Professor Dr. Masud Ahmed Farooqui, Bano Qudsia, Asima Jhengir and Sardar Yasin Malik.

Stiar-e-Imtiaz was awarded Philip Goddard Ransley of UK, Ambassador of Bosnia Dzanko Damir, Dr. Harald Hauptmann (Germany), Folker Flasse (Germany), Professor Hiroji Kataoka (Japan), Dr. Masoom Yasin Zai, Shahzad Qaisar, Professor Adil Anjum, and acting IG Islamabad Bin Yamin Khan while Sitara-i-Quaid-i-Azam awarded to Tariq Abdul Hamid.

Sitara-i-Shujaat was conferred to Karim Khan Shaheed, Khurshid Khan Shaheed, Malik Afzal Khan Shaheed (Head Qaumi Lashkar), Constable Shah Faisal Shaeed, Muhammad Iqbal Shaheed and Aamir Wasim Shaheed.

Tamgha-i-Shujjat were awarded to Raham Dil Shaheed, Ashraf Shaheed, Naymat Ullah Shaheed, Imran Khan Shaheed, Noor Wali Khan Shaheed, Aslam Shaheed, Asad Ali Shaheed, Fazl Bari Shaheed, Fayyaz Shaheed, Wali Khan Shaheed, M. Subhan Shaheed, Aftab Khan Shaheed, Mir Alam Khan Shaheed, Gohar Ali Shaheed, Mir Abdullah, Ajmair Shah Shaheed, Islam Khan Shaheed and Aalam Zaib Khan Shaheed.

Tamgha-e-Shujjat also conferred to Mehdi Hasnain Shaheed, Sher Abbas Shaheed, Malik Dad Shaheed, Muhammad Hayat Shaheed, Rizwan ul Haq Shaheed, Abid Ali Shaheed, Fazl Rabi (Subedar), M. Ismail Shaheed, Farman Ullah Shaheed, Hussain ur Rehman Shaheed, Javed Khan Mehmood, Sabir Jamal Shaheed, Khalid Khan Shaheed, Wali Khan, Zarmat Khan Shaheed, Haji Sultan Khan Shaheed, Malik Mehar Dil Khan Shaheed and Humayun Khan Marawat.

Tamgha-e-Imtiaz were awarded to Shabeer Hussain Balti, Ghulam Sarwar, Dr. M. Kosar, Professor Dr. Farhat Hussain Naqvi, Dr. Javed Suleman, Dr. Mukhtar Ahmed, Dr. Syed Bhadur Ali Salik, Mir Aslam Hussain Sehar and Ibrar Ahmed Gazi.

President Asif Ali Zardari hosted a reception in the honour of personalities rendered valuable services and heirs of people who sacrificed their lives. Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani, members of the Federal Cabinet and high government officials and senior officers of Armed Officers attended the reception.

The president on the occasion mingled with the participants and congratulated to them on getting awards.

About the Author

Email your contributions to email@jazbablog.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.