By-elections in NA-123, PP-82, PP-284 to be held today

The by-elections in NA-123 Lahore and two constituencies of provincial assembly PP-82 Jhang and PP-284 Bahawalpur would be held today (Wednesday).

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has completed all its arrangements in connection with by-elections and local holiday announced in the city.

All polling stations of NA-123 have been declared sensitive after Monday’s suicide blast in Model Town and Rangers have been called for the assistance of police.

The ECP has setup 268 polling stations for today’s election. Out of 268 polling station, there are 135 reserved for men while 133 polling stations reserved for women.

641 booths were setup on 268 polling stations of the constituency. 325 polling booths were reserved for men while 316 were made for women.

Meanwhile, on the information of intelligence agencies, the administration declared 17 polling stations as most sensitive while the remaining 251 declared as sensitive.

The constituency has overall, 2,60,000 registered voters and most of the constituency comprised on backward areas of East Lahore and two towns of the city including Shalimar Town and Ravi Town.

More than 52 candidates would contest in NA-123 but the main competition would be held among Malik Muhammad Pervaiz of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Mian Hamid Miraj of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf and Hafiz Salman Butt, joint candidate of Jamaat-e-Islami and Pakistan Muslim League-Q.

It is important to mention here that a petition has been filed in the Supreme Court to stop the election but the 3-member bench rejected it but linked the result of the elections with the Verdict of the Supreme Court.

The results of by-poll in of PP-82 Jhang also linked with the verdict of the Supreme Court and 42 polling stations of the constituency have been declared sensitive.

About the Author

Email your contributions to email@jazbablog.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.